The four lowest teams entered the Super League Qualifying Play-off, along with the four highest Championship teams, to decide which will play in Super League XXI. The Rugby Football League Limited is a company registered in England and Wales with company number 3845473.

This was the first World Cup with no new teams to the tournament. In 2015 the League 1 Cup was introduced as an additional competition for League 1 clubs. The 2015 Rugby World Cup was the eighth Rugby World Cup, the quadrennial rugby union world championship. The registered address is Red Hall, Red Hall Lane, Leeds, LS17 8NB.

The regular season started in February 2015 and culminated with the grand final on 10 October.

In 2016 Toulouse Olympique joined the league, bringing the total number of teams to 15. England rugby league team Natalie Harrowell, who won three England rugby league caps, has died suddenly, aged 29, with her club Featherstone Rovers leading tributes with an emotional statement The VAT Registration Number of The Rugby Football League Limited is 168 8110 49.

Of the 20 countries competing in the World Cup in 2011, there was only one change: Uruguay replaced Russia. Toronto Wolfpack joined the league in 2017, bringing the total number of teams to 16. The tournament was hosted by England from 18 September to 31 October.