Six burns raised the apogee of the orbit and the spacecraft left Earth orbit and headed for Mars on 01 December 2013. Mangalyaan launched at 09:08 UTC (14:38 IST, 4:08 a.m. EST) on a Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV-C25) from the Satish Dhawan Space Center in Sriharikota, India.

Mangalyaan ("Mars-craft" in Sanskrit )is orbiting Mars since September 24, 2014.

Mangalyaan, Mars Craft, 39370, 2013-060A Goals India's Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM)—or Mangalyaan (Hindi for "Mars Craft")—is the country's first mission to the Red Planet. It was India's first interplanetary journey to cross the Earth's orbit successfully.