Together they form the European Union's only land borders with Africa. It is configured by an extra set of border segments that confer an anomalous and fascinating char-acter to the border scenario. People wait to cross Spanish border with Morocco … African migrants climb a border fence during a latest attempt to cross into Spanish territory, between Morocco and Spain's north African enclave of Melilla August 12, 2014. In 2005 the Spanish socialist former president Jose Luís Rodriguez Zapatero ordered to install the concertinas in the border fences that separate Ceuta and Melilla from Morocco. At the border in Ceuta, there is just a fence. Ceuta (pronounced say-YOU-tah) is one of the two Spanish communities on the north coast of what otherwise would be Morocco… Ceuta is an enclave on the Mediterranean leftover from Spain’s colonization of Morocco. The theoretical frame established in this paper mainly focuses on the land borders between the Spanish North-African enclaves and Morocco.

Crossing the Ceuta Border. The tiny Spanish enclaves of Ceuta and Melilla sit on the northern shores of Morocco's Mediterranean coast. However, the border between Spain and Morocco goes beyond the Herculean divide. The Spanish embassy in Morocco tweeted on Saturday that ferries were still operating between the enclaves and mainland Spain. Ceuta is legally Spain, which is why those traveling from the mainland can take a ferry over for about forty euro.Those going to Ceuta from Morocco, however, have to cross the land border… Portugal borders the country in the west, Gibraltar in the south, France and Andorra in the northeast while Morocco is bordered by Spain’s autonomous cities of Melilla and Ceuta. Of these countries, Portugal has the longest border with Spain, stretching 754 miles, while Gibraltar has the shortest, with a length of only 0.75 miles. The mountainous Tamazight-speaking area had often escaped the sultan’s control. Spain also received a strip of desert land in the southwest, known as Tarfaya, … Morocco - Morocco - The Spanish Zone: The Spanish protectorate over northern Morocco extended from Larache (El-Araish) on the Atlantic to 30 miles (48 km) beyond Melilla (already a Spanish possession) on the Mediterranean.